At 18 years of age, I was diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD). My primary disease process is Focal Segmental Glomerulosclerosis (FSGS); I have been on hemodialysis for over 27 years, and on home hemodialysis for the past 15 years. I have had two living related kidney transplants, from my Dad and from a cousin. Both transplants failed immediately on the operating room table with extremely aggressive reoccurrence of FSGS in the transplanted kidney. At this time, I am not on the transplant list, as it is believed that the same outcome will occur as with the first two transplants.

I work full time as a Senior Manager at the Toronto Stock Exchange. I workout on a regular basis, including yoga, to maintain my overall health. In the winter, I curl competitively, reaching provincial finals twice; in the summer, I sail and golf. My wife and I also like to travel, we enjoy discovering new places. We have travelled to almost every province in Canada, over a dozen cities in the US, several locations in the Caribbean and many countries in Europe. Beyond the additional complexities of booking travel like everyone else, part of our travel planning includes finding and arranging a local dialysis unit at our destination.

I have recently become active with the Kidney Foundation of Canada – Ontario Branch, as a Peer Support Counselor. I believe that having access to a network of like-minded, progressive patients who have a keen interest in living a productive life, despite being diagnosed with CKD, is critical. I am part of a roster of several dialysis patients that are available to be matched to new patients and have spoken publicly at York University on risk factors and treatment options for CKD. I am also a standing member of the Ontario Renal Network (ORN) Patient and Family Advisory Council (PFAC).